2008-09 MIAC Women's Swimming & Diving Awards

2008-09 MIAC Women's Swimming & Diving Awards

St. Paul, Minn. -- The 2008-09 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) Swimming & Diving Championships came to a close on Saturday evening with the Carleton women taking home the team title. Individual awards were presented on Saturday as well, below are the award winners.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC selected the third annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for Women's Swimming & Diving. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

Women's Co-Swimmers of the YearMaggie Alexander, Carleton and Carrie Gundersen, Gustavus
- Alexander (Fy., Tigard, Ore./Tualatin) not only broke the conference record in the 200 backstroke, but also posted a NCAA automatic qualifying time of 2:03.04. She also broke the MIAC meet record while recording another NCAA automatic qualifying time in winning the 500 freestyle. She was second in the 200 freestyle and swam on a trio of All-MIAC relays.
- Gundersen (Jr., Minnetonka, Minn./Hopkins) won the 1650 freestyle in a new conference and meet record time of 17:09.69 and finished second in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:59.91.  Gundersen’s times in the 1650 and 500 automatically qualified her for the NCAA Championships.

Women's Diver of the Year -
Annie Flanagan, Macalester
- Flanagan (Sr., Madison, Wis./East) won the 1 and 3-meter diving events at the MIAC Championships. Flanagan scored 404.80 points on Saturday night to win the 1-meter diving competition which followed up Friday's 391.10 in the 3-meter.

Women's Swimming Coach of the Year -
Nicole Hempler, St. Catherine
- Hempler, who is in her seventh season at St. Kate's, saw her athletes break eight school records and record three NCAA B Qualifiers at the conference championships. The Wildcats also improved to seventh overall with 259 points. That was an 80 point improvement over last season and was nearly 100 points better than their projected total heading into the meet.   

Diving Coaches of the Year
Gabe Kortuem, St. Olaf & Carleton, Gregg Rappe, Macaleter, Mark Dusbabek, St. Thomas
- Kortuem, Rappe, and Dusabek were selected as the 2008-09 MIAC Diving Coaches of the Year. Kortuem coached Men's Co-Divers of the Year Ian Straehly and Ryan Trostrud from St. Olaf, Rappe coached Women's Diver of the Year Annie Flanagan, and Dusbabek led three different divers to the award's podium (top eight finish). 

Women’s Swimming & Diving All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team
Augsburg College - Sarah Valasek (Sr., Green Lake, Wis.)
Carleton College - Kaarin Taylor (Sr., Gainesville, Fla.)
Concordia College - Katie Coleman (So., Marshall, Minn.)
Gustavus Adolphus College - Britta Nelson (Sr., Morrison, Colo./Bear Creek)
Hamline University - Jozie Nummi (Fy., Superior, Wis.)
Macalester College - Meghan Davies (Fy., Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer)
College of Saint Benedict - Alison Pagliacetti (Sr., Virginia, Minn.)
College of St. Catherine - Gina Jagger (Sr., White Bear Lake, Minn.)
Saint Mary's University - Angela Lager (Jr., Stewartville, Minn.)
St. Olaf College - Kjersten Grinde (So., Maple Grove, Minn.)
University of St. Thomas - Jena Root (Jr., Little Canada, Minn./Roseville)

2008-09 MIAC Swimming & Diving Championships Website