2009 MIAC Men's Cross Country Awards

Dan Greeno, Bethel
Dan Greeno, Bethel

11/4/2009 1:41:53 PM

St, Paul, Minn. -- The 2009 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) Men's Cross Country Championship was run this past Saturday at Como Park Golf Course. Hamline University captured the team title with 61 points and Bethel University senior Dan Greeno won the individual title. Today, the 2009 MIAC Men's Cross Country Awards were announced.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC announced the fourth annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for Men's Cross Country. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

2009 MIAC Most Valuable Athlete 
Bethel University senior Dan Greeno (St. Michael, Minn./St. Michael-Albertville) captured his first MIAC men's cross country championship victory on a cold, very windy afternoon at the Como Park Golf Course on Saturday. Greeno overcame traffic in the first quarter mile before taking the reigns of the 8,000-meter course and the competition before the mile mark and never looked back, winning in a time of 25:21. Greeno took the victory a full 34 seconds ahead of Hamline’s Ian Bauer, who finished in second in 25:55. The win completes four straight years that Greeno has finished as an all-conference competitor. The Bethel men finished seventh as a team in the extremely competitive conference, with an average finishing time of 27:16.

2009 MIAC Coach of the Year
Hamline University head coach Paul Schmaedeke guided the Pipers to the MIAC Men's Cross Country Championship with a team total of 61 points. In his 22nd season, Schmaedeke's Pipers won their first MIAC title since 2005. Five Hamline runners finished in the top twenty, and all seven scorers were in the top thirty. Hamline is currently ranked second in the Central Region.

2009 MIAC All-Conference

Place Time Name School Year Hometown/High School
1 25:21 Dan Greeno Bethel Sr. St. Michael, Minn./St. Michael-Albertville
2 25:55 Ian Bauer Hamline Sr. Roseville, Minn.
3 25:55 Ben Sathre St. Thomas So. Chaska, Minn.
4 25:56 Jacob Marotz St. Olaf Sr. Appleton, Wis./East
5 26:01 Wade Ekstrom Macalester Sr. La Crescent, Minn. 
6 26:11 Devin Monson Hamline So. Thompson, N.D.
7 26:12 Brian Sames St. Thomas Sr. Shakopee, Minn.
8 26:15 Dobuol Ruon St. Olaf Jr. Northfield, Minn.
9 26:16 Brent Haglund Augsburg Sr. Fridley, Minn.
10 26:25 Dustin Franta Saint John's Jr. La Crescent, Minn. 
11 26:26 Ben Rodriguez Augsburg So. Buffalo, Minn.
12 26:33 Ben Wilson St. Olaf Jr. Alexandria, Minn./Jefferson
13 26:36 Mike Connell St. Thomas Sr. Eau Claire, Wis./Regis
14 26:39 Patrick Lowder Saint John's Sr. Chanhassen, Minn./Chaska
15 26:48 Jamison Hull Hamline Sr. Forest Lake, Minn.

2009 All-MIAC Men's Cross Country Sportsmanship Team
Augsburg - Brent Haglund (Sr., Fridley, Minn.)
Bethel - Matt McKeever (So., Hutchinson, Minn.)
Carleton - Charlie Gamble (Sr., San Diego, Calif./La Jolla)
Concordia - Ben Fraase (So.,  Bismarck, N.D./Century)
Gustavus - John Kennedy (Sr., Coon Rapids, Minn.)
Hamline - Andrew Johnson (Jr., Andover, Minn.)
Macalester - Nick Mangigian (Sr., Ann Arbor, Mich./Greenhill)
Saint John's - Ryan Noack (Sr., St. Cloud, Minn./Cathedral)
Saint Mary's - John Vallez (Sr., Eagan, Minn./Ramsey)
St. Olaf - Eric Klein (So., Wells, Minn./United South Central)
St. Thomas - Tony Gerten (Sr., Mendota Heights, Minn./St. Thomas Academy)