2008 MIAC Men's Cross Country Awards

Duboul Ruon - St. Olaf
Duboul Ruon - St. Olaf

11/5/2008 2:07:36 PM

St, Paul, Minn. -- The 2008 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) Men's Cross Country Championship was run this past Saturday with the St. Olaf men winning the team championship and Ole sophomore Duboul Ruon claiming the individual title. Today, the 2008 MIAC Men's Cross Country Awards were announced.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC announced the third annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for Men's Cross Country. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

2008 MIAC Most Valuable Athlete 
St. Olaf College sophomore Duboul Ruon (Northfield, Minn.) won the 2008 MIAC Men's Cross Country individual championship last Saturday at St. Paul's Como Golf Course. Ruon held off Macalester's Martin Mudry by four seconds to claim the title in his first season of collegiate cross country. He played for the St. Olaf men's soccer team last fall. Led by Ruon's efforts, the Oles won their third overall MIAC team title.

2008 MIAC Coach of the Year
In his first season as head coach at St. Olaf, Phil Lundin coached the Oles to the 2008 MIAC Men's Cross Country Championship. Individual champion Duboul Ruon and All-Conference runners David Green and Cullen O'Neill helped the Oles claim their third overall MIAC title. Lundin, who left Division I Minnesota to take the St. Olaf job, has the Oles ranked first in the region and 19th nationally heading into the Central Region Championships.

2008 MIAC All-Conference

Place Time Name School Year Hometown/High School
1 25:01 Duboul Ruon St. Olaf So. Northfield, Minn.
2 25:05 Martin Mudry Macalester Sr. University Heights, Ohio/University School
3 25:26 Brandon Gleason Hamline Sr. Mantorville, Minn./Kasson-Mantorville
4 25:30 Dan Greeno Bethel Jr. St. Michael, Minn./St. Michael-Albertsville
5 25:34 Dan Foley Gustavus Sr. Minneapolis, Minn./South
6 25:36 Carl Gladitsch Bethel Sr. Bloomer, Wis.
7 25:41 Brent Haglund Augsburg Jr. Fridley, Minn.
8 25:43 Ian Bauer Hamline Jr. Roseville, Minn.
9 25:44 Charlie Gamble Carleton Jr. San Diego, Calif./La Jolla
10 25:49 Wade Ekstrom Macalester Jr. La Crescent, Minn. 
11 25:54 Matt Boumeester St. Thomas Sr. Oakdale, Minn./Tartan
12 26:01 David Green St. Olaf Sr. Winetka, Minn./New Trier Township
13 26:05 Cullen O'Neill St. Olaf Sr. Northfield, Minn.
14 26:09 Ben Sathre St. Thomas Fy. Chaska, Minn.
15 26:13 Tyler Hinrichs Bethel Sr. Clara City, Minn./Maccray

2008 All-MIAC Men's Cross Country Sportsmanship Team
Augsburg - Brent Haglund (Jr., Fridley, Minn.)
Bethel - Carl Gladitsch (Sr., Bloomer, Wis.)
Carleton - Pete Samuels (Sr., Concord, N.H.)
Concordia - Mike Reponen (Jr., Baxter, Minn.)
Gustavus - John Leaf (Sr., Center City, Minn.)
Hamline - Brandon Gleason (Sr., Mantorville, Minn.)
Macalester - Franz Meyer (Sr., Kirkwood, Mo.)
Saint John's - Alex Kurt (Sr., Eagan, Minn.)
Saint Mary's - John Vallez (Jr., Eagan, Minn.)
St. Olaf - Mike Krahulec (Sr., Waconia, Minn.)
St. Thomas - Rorak Hooten (Sr., Sioux Falls, S.D.)