2006 MIAC Men's Cross Country Awards

The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) announced its 2006 Cross Country Awards today, November 1, 2006. Saint John's University and University of St. Thomas won the men's and women's championships, respectively, at the MIAC Championships held October 29th at Como Park Golf Course in St. Paul. Individually, Hamline's Travis Bristow won the men's race while Gustavus' Hailey Harren won the women's race.

MIAC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year
Saint John's University head coach Tim Miles led the Johnnies to the team title at the 2006 MIAC Men's Cross Country Championships. Saint John's captured it's first championship since 1999 and 14th overall team title. The Johnnies used a total team effort to capture the title; they placed five runners (Mitch Vanbruggen, Kelly Fermoyle, Chris Erichsen, Andrew Stevens, and Darren Larsen) in the top 12 individuals. 

MIAC Men’s Athlete of the Year
Hamline University senior Travis Bristow (Pine River, Minn./Pine River-Backus) won the individual title as the Pipers took second at the MIAC Men's Cross Country Championships. Bristow is the first Piper to win the individual crown since Tom Kreger accomplished the feat in 2002. Bristow finished the 8-kilometer course in a time of 26:02.52 - 6.6 seconds ahead of Saint John's Mitch VanBruggen. 

2006 All-Conference
1 Travis Bristow HU 26:02.52
2 Mitch Vanbruggen SJU 26:09.12
3 Chris Yotter HU 26:13.42
4 Dan Steinbrecher HU 26:15.57
5 Kelly Fermoyle SJU 26:18.17
6 Chris Erichsen SJU 26:21.02
7 Dan Greeno BU 26:33.57
8 Carl Gladitsch BU 26:36.02
9 John Nowinski CAR 26:38.52
10 Andrew Stevens SJU 26:42.92
11 Dylan Keith MAC 26:43.67
12 Darren Larsen SJU 26:43.92
13 Logan O'Grady UST 26:44.67
14 Chris Delaubenfels GAC 26:46.07
15 Jon Murphy HU 26:48.77