Tommies, Oles, Cobbers headline 2015 MIAC Men's Indoor T&F Awards

Tommies, Oles, Cobbers headline 2015 MIAC Men's Indoor T&F Awards

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. -- The 2015 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) Men's Indoor Track and Field Championships were held last weekend at Concordia College in Moorhead, Minn., and Thursday the top performers from another outstanding conference championship event were recognized with the announcement of the 2015 MIAC Men's Indoor Track and Field Awards.

The top individual awards were claimed by the top two teams in the standings and the host institution. MIAC champion St. Thomas had Brian Jarvey (Jr., Wayzata, Minn.) named Outstanding Track Athlete. Concordia's Brandon Zylstra (Jr., Spicer, Minn./New London-Spicer) received Outstanding Field Athlete honors, and runner-up St. Olaf had Grant Wintheiser (Sr., Sartell, Minn./Cathedral) earn Outstanding Performance-of-the-Meet honors and Phil Lundin (Seventh season) receive the Coach-of-the-Year award.

The individual honors are accompanied by the announcement of the All-Conference selections and All-Conference Honorable Mention team, which are automatically determined based on performance, and one member of each team was selected to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The top individual awards were voted on by the 11 men's indoor track and field head coaches.

Jarvey was named the top track athlete at the 2014 meet for his role in St. Thomas' 31st-straight MIAC indoor title, as the Tommies have now won the meet in each of its 31 years of existence. Jarvey won a second-straight MIAC title in both the 200- and 400-meter dash, as he won the 200 with a time of 22.52 seconds, and the 400 in 49.37 seconds. He also anchored St. Thomas' first-place 4x400-meter relay team, which finished with a time of 2:23.77, to help him go a perfect 3-for-3 in his MIAC indoor races.

Zylstra's athleticism in the field events electrified the home crowd in Moorhead, and led to his selection as the top field athlete. He soared a distance of 22-7.75 feet or 6.90 meters to capture the MIAC indoor title in the long jump, and he cleared the high jump bar at 6-8.25 feet or 2.04 meters to finish as the runner-up in that event. He scored 18 of his team's 52 points, and helped Concordia earn a sixth-place finish on its home track.

Wintheiser earned his latest MIAC accolade thanks to his brilliant performance to capture a third-straight title in the 3,000-meter run. A year ago, he set the meet record with a time of 8:28.10, and he broke his own record in 2015 with a new all-time best of 8:25.51. Not only does that time now rank as the MIAC meet record, but he'll also enter this weekend's national championships with the second-best 3K time in the nation. Wintheiser was the 2014 MIAC Indoor Outstanding Track Athlete, and the 2014 NCAA Division III cross country national champion is also a three-time MIAC cross country champ and MVP.

Lundin received his latest MIAC coaching honor after leading the Oles to a near-upset of the only team to ever win the MIAC indoor title. St. Olaf challenged St. Thomas all weekend long, and was a close second, 162-142, behind the Tommies. This season, Lundin coached five individual MIAC champions, one first-place relay team, and a total of 10 All-Conference performances. This is Lundin's second MIAC Indoor Coach-of-the-Year award after also receiving the honor in 2013. He now has six total MIAC coaching honors to go along with four in cross country, and he also has four Big Ten Coach-of-the-Year awards from his time at the University of Minnesota. 

In addition to the top individual award-winners, the MIAC also recognized the 2015 Men's Indoor Track and Field All-MIAC Sportsmanship team. Also listed below are the 2015 MIAC Men's Indoor Track and Field All-Conference individuals and relay teams. The top three finishers in each individual event and each first-place relay team received All-MIAC honors. Individuals that finished 4-6 and relay teams that finished 2-6 received All-Conference Honorable Mention honors and can be found in the final results

Fans can re-live all the action of the 2015 MIAC Indoor Track and Field Championships online. The event home page has complete results, recaps and photo galleries from an exciting weekend. 


2015 Individual Awards  

Outstanding Track Athlete
Brian Jarvey, St. Thomas (Jr., Wayzata, Minn.)   

Outstanding Field Athlete
Brandon Zylstra, Concordia (Jr., Spicer, Minn./New London-Spicer)   

Outstanding Performance-of-the-Meet
Grant Wintheiser, St. Olaf, 3,000-meter run (Sr., Sartell, Minn./Cathedral)     

Phil Lundin, St. Olaf (Seventh season) 

2015 All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team

Augsburg - Barinedum Kordah (So, Brooklyn Park, Minn./Park Center)  
Bethel - Cody Britt (Sr., Hartland, Wis./Arrowhead)  
Carleton - Colby Seyferth (Sr., Banks, Ore.)  
Concordia - Theo Betting (Sr., Bismarck, N.D./Century)  
Gustavus - Nick Carlson (Sr., Fridley, Minn.)  
Hamline - Frederick Galloway Jr. (Sr., Lake Charles, La.)  
Macalester - Jole Miller (Sr., Missouri Valley, Iowa)  
Saint John's - Yasin Williams (Sr., East Orange, N.J./St. Benedict's Prep)   
Saint Mary's - Tyler Kircher (Sr., Cashton, Wis.)  
St. Olaf - Jordan Pesik (Sr., Eagan, Minn.)  
St. Thomas - Sam Bach (Sr., Lakeville, Minn./North)  

2015 All-Conference Team

60-meter dash 
1. Undre Smith-Brewer, Augsburg, 6.94
2. Tom Larson, Hamline, 7.00
3. Elisha Hinton, Bethel, 7.05

200-meter dash
1. Brian Jarvey, St. Thomas, 22.52
2. Barinedum Kordah, Augsburg, 22.68
3. Tom Larson, Hamline, 22.73

400-meter dash
1. Brian Jarvey, St. Thomas, 49.37
2. Barinedum Kordah, Augsburg, 49.71
3. Morris McDennis, Saint Mary's, 50.18

600-meter run
1. Kevin Skrip, St. Olaf, 1:22.10
2. Isaac Krause, Hamline, 1:22.66
3. Ryan Queenan, St. Thomas, 1:23.22

800-meter run
1. Donson Cook-Gallardo, Carleton, 1:54.87   
2. Thomas Feichtinger, Saint John's, 1:55.29        
3. Isaac Kruse, Hamline, 1:58.20

1,000-meter run
1. Donson Cook-Gallardo, Carleton, 2:28.73
2. Paul Escher, St. Olaf, 2:30.12
3. Thomas Feichtinger, Saint John's, 2:30.85 

Mile run
1. Paul Escher, St. Olaf, 4:18.05
2. Joe Coffey, St. Olaf, 4:19.45
3. Jonah Barry, Carleton, 4:21.34

3,000-meter run
1. Grant Wintheiser, St. Olaf, 8:25.51
2. Phillip Meyer, St. Olaf, 8:27.68
3. Jonah Barry, Carleton, 8:29.18

5,000-meter run
1. Jake Campbell, St. Olaf, 14:40.93
2. Phillip Meyer, St. Olaf, 14:41.85
3. Thomas Knobbe, Gustavus, 15:20.59

60-meter hurdles
1. Aaron Dunphy, St. Olaf, 8.48
2. Eric Hanson, Hamline, 8.63
3. Ross Kinderman, Saint Mary's, 8.70

4x200-meter relay
1. St. Thomas, 1:29.67
   (Michael Witschen, Joseph Reed, Daniel Sauro and Cole Boughner )

4x400-meter relay
1. St. Thomas, 3:23.77
   (Chris Mueller, Ryan Queenan, Cole Boughner, Brian Jarvey)   

Distance Medley Relay
1. St. Olaf, 10:33.25
   (Joe Coffey, Joey Pugh, Andy Rudberg, Grant Wintheiser) 

Long Jump

1. Brandon Zylstra, Concordia, 22-7.75
2. Michael Witschen, St. Thomas, 22-3
3. Barinedum Kordah, Augsburg, 22-0.25

Triple Jump
1. Evan Cross, St. Thomas, 44-8
2. Joe Koll, Saint John's, 44-5.5
3. Jackson Schepp, Concordia, 44-2.5

Shot Put
1. Chase Duwenhoegger, Hamline, 51-3.75
2. Matt Schauer, St. Thomas, 49-7.75
3. Micah Hausman, St. Thomas, 48-10

Weight throw
1. Bryce DeBoer, Bethel, 56-11.5
2. Joey Grussing, Hamline, 53-7.75
3. Jesse Scheiterlein, Gustavus, 52-6.75

High Jump
1. Logan Hovie, Macalester, 6-9.5
2. Brandon Zylstra, Concordia, 6-8.25
3. Jordan Steward, Hamline, 6-4

Pole Vault
1. Mark Volker, Hamline, 15-1.5
2. Derek Huntley, Gustavus, 14-5.5
3. Maxwell Olson, Saint John's, 14-5.5

1. Colby Seyferth, Carleton, 4,654 points
2. Evan McNeil, Carleton, 4,437 points
3. Gabe Wright, Concordia, 4,233 points



2015 MIAC Indoor Track and Field Championships Home Page