2012 MIAC Men's Indoor Track & Field Awards swept by St. Thomas

2012 MIAC Men's Indoor Track & Field Awards swept by St. Thomas
ST. PAUL, Minn. -- The University of St. Thomas men won their unprecedented 28th-straight conference title Saturday at the conclusion of the 2012 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) Indoor Track and Field Championships. Wednesday, the Tommies' celebration continued as the team swept the MIAC's top four individual awards as well.
Junior Eyo Ekpo led the way for UST - both during the meet and in the conference award announcements - winning the Outstanding Men's Field Athlete honor for the third-straight season, and adding the Men's Outstanding Performance-of-the-Meet award for his showing in the triple jump. Teammate Mike Hutton received his second-straight Outstanding Men's Track Athlete honor and Tommie coach Steve Mathre was voted Men's Coach-of-the-Year by his peers.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC selected the sixth annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for men's indoor track and field. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

The top three individual finishers and first-place relay team in each event were automatically named All-Conference. The fourth- through sixth-place individuals and second- through sixth-place relay teams were designated as All-Conference Honorable Mention, and all can be viewed in the final results from the 2012 Championships.

Complete information from the 2012 MIAC Indoor Track and Field Championships - including results, recaps, linked to archived video from Webcast America and more - can be found on the event's home page.

Outstanding Men's Track Athlete - Mike Hutton, UST
-Hutton (Sr., Apple Valley, Minn.) Hutton claimed his second-straight Outstanding Men's Track Athlete award for his contributions to another St. Thomas title. Hutton continued to own the middle-distance events in the MIAC, winning the 800-meter run for the second year in a row, and adding a victory in the 600-meter run after claiming the 600-yard title last year (the event was changed this season). Hutton's winning time in the 800 was 1:52.69 and he won the 600 in 1:20.29. Both times set new Leonard Center records. 

Outstanding Men's Field Athlete - Eyo Ekpo, St. Thomas
- Ekpo (Jr., Andover, Minn.) Ekpo continued his reign as the conference's top field athlete in 2012, winning the Indoor Outstanding Men's Field Athlete award for the third-straight season. This year, Ekpo swept the jumping events at the conference meet. He claimed his third-straight triple jump title, and added titles in the long jump and high jump to majorly contribute to UST's team championship. He won the triple jump with a distance of 49-3, went 22-8 to win the long jump and cleared the bar at 6-9.75 to add the high jump title to his terrific performance.

Men's Outstanding Performance of the Meet - Eyo Ekpo, St. Thomas
- Ekpo (Jr., Andover, Minn.) was also honored specifically for his first-place finish in the triple jump, adding the Men's Outstanding Performance-of-the-Meet honor to his award-winning weekend. Ekpo didn't just win the event for the third-straight season, but he won in impressive fashion. He traveled a distance of 49-3 (15.01 meters), almost four feet and more than a meter beyond the next-best effort. His winning jump came on his fourth attempt, and he was able to pass on his final attempt with the title in hand.

Men's Coach of the Year - Steve Mathre, St. Thomas
- Mathre's team continued its indoor reign in 2012, and St. Thomas has now won all 28 championships in the event's history. This is Mathre's 17th season as head coach, and his 17th indoor title. This season's victory came courtesy of 189.5 points and 10 individual event championships. The Tommies had 14 top-three finishers who earned All-Conference honors and another 11 receive Honorable Mention for ranking in the top six. The next-closest team to UST in the team race was exactly 60 points back. The MIAC Indoor Coach-of-the-Year honor is just the latest coaching honor for Mathre, who last won the honor in 2008.

2012 Men's Indoor Track All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team
Augsburg - Rick Wolke (Sr., Belle Plaine, Minn.)
Bethel - Gavin Woodland (Jr., Waconia, Minn.)
Carleton - Kian Flynn (Sr., Otis, Ore./Taft)
Concordia - Alex Benzegala (So., Gig Harbor, Wash./Peninsula)
Gustavus - Matt Dvorak (Sr., Burnsville, Minn./St. Croix Lutheran)
Hamline - Ellis Richardson (Jr., Roseville, Minn.)
Macalester - Carl Biggers (Sr., Verona, Wis.)
Saint John's - Logan Schwinghammer (Sr., Sartell, Minn./Sartell-St. Stephen)
Saint Mary's - Jake Traxler (Jr., Le Center, Minn.)
St. Olaf - Brian Hulse (Jr., Overland Park, Kan.)
St. Thomas - Andy Edmunds (Sr., Arcadia, Wis.)

2012 MIAC Indoor Track and Field Championships