2011 MIAC Men's Indoor Track & Field Awards

2011 MIAC Men's Indoor Track & Field Awards
ST. PAUL, Minn. -- The 2010 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) Indoor Track & Field Championships came to a close on Saturday afternoon with the St. Thomas men capturing the team title. This week, individual awards were announced and the honorees are listed below.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC selected the fifth annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for Men's Indoor Track & Field. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

Outstanding Men's Track Athlete - Mike Hutton, UST
- Hutton (So., Apple Valley, Minn.) helped St. Thomas win its 27th straight indoor title over the weekend with a dynamic performance that resulted in two individual titles and one relay championship for the Tommie sophomore. Hutton claimed MIAC titles in both the 600-yard run and the 800-meter run with times of 1:12.53 and 1:53.61, respectively. His 800 time was a provisional qualifier for the NCAA Championships. Hutton also lifted the St. Thomas 4x400-meter relay team to a win despite trailing heading into his final leg. The team recorded a winning time of 3:22.71, and their win in the meet's final event helped hold off Hamline in the race for the team title.

Outstanding Men's Field Athlete - Eyo Ekpo, St. Thomas
- Ekpo (So., Andover, Minn.) was named the Outstanding Men's Field Athlete of the MIAC Indoor Championships for the second-straight season after a great performance over the weekend. Epko's top individual highlight came when he successfully defended his triple jump championship. Epko recorded a distance of 47-05.75 to win his second-straight triple jump title and meet the NCAA provisional mark. The Tommie sophomore added second-place finishes in the long jump (22-01.75) and the high jump (6-06.75) to help the UST men win their 27th-straight conference indoor championship.

Men's Outstanding Performance of the Meet - Andrew Brueggen, Saint Mary's
- Brueggen (Sr., Holmen, Wis.) has garnered attention throughout the 2011 indoor season for his exploits in the weight throw - which include a new MIAC record, a No. 2 Division III ranking and a pair of MIAC Athlete-of-the-Week awards. His excellence in the event carried over into the MIAC Championships, as Brueggen won the weight throw while breaking an 18-year-old meet record and meeting the NCAA's automatic qualifying standard. The senior's winning throw traveled 64-06.75 (19.68 meters), which broke the previous record of 62-03.00 (18.97), set by St. Thomas' Pat Ahern back in 1993.

Men's Coach of the Year - Paul Schmaedeke, Hamline
- Schmaedeke earned Men's Indoor Coach-of-the-Year honors for the second-straight season after leading the Pipers to another narrow second-place finish. Hamline's eight-point loss (166-158) to 27-time champ St. Thomas is the second-closest finish in meet history, only behind the Tommies seven-point margin over the Pipers a year ago. Schmaedeke coached three individual champions and two winning relays over the weekend, with a total of 14 top-three finishes and 29 scoring performances, en route to Hamline's runner-up finish. Schmaedeke now has 10 MIAC Coach-of-the-Year honors, including a string of five straight seasons with at least one award, and the men's cross country honor last fall.

2011 Men's Indoor Track All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team
Augsburg - Dakota Darkstar (Fr., Minneapolis, Minn./Southwest)
Bethel - Gavin Woodland (So., Waconia, Minn.)
Carleton - Ty Martin (Sr., Minot, N.D.)
Concordia - Tom Sederquist (Jr., Moorhead, Minn.)
Gustavus - Justin Lund (Sr., Cyrus, Minn./Morris Area)
Hamline - Jon Danyo (Sr., Highlands Ranch, Colo.)
Macalester - Tim Erkel (Sr., Woodbury, Minn./Minnehaha Academy)
Saint John's - Andrew Norman (Sr., Maple Grove, Minn.)
Saint Mary's - Benton Kodet (Sr., Northfield, Minn.)
St. Olaf - Ethan Smith (So., St. Louis Park, Minn.)
St. Thomas - Crawford Hubbell (Des Moines, Iowa/Roosevelt)

2011 MIAC Indoor Track & Field Championships Website