2009 MIAC Men's Indoor Track & Field Awards

2009 MIAC Men's Indoor Track & Field Awards
3/11/2009 12:29:44 PM
St. Paul, Minn. -- The 2009 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) Indoor Track & Field Championships came to a close on Saturday afternoon with the St. Thomas men capturing the team title. This week, individual awards were announced and the honorees are listed below.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC selected the third annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for Men's Indoor Track & Field. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

Outstanding Men's Track Athlete - Charlie Gamble, Carleton
- Gamble (Jr., San Diego, Calif./La Jolla) was a double winner at the championships, following up his impressive 5000-meter victory on Friday with another record-setting performance on day two at the 3000-meter distance. Gamble stole the spotlight on Friday with his 5000 meter run time of 14:48.58, which was more than five-and-a-half seconds faster than the previous Olson Forum record. He followed that up with another track record on Saturday, recording a winning time of 8:38.80 in the 3000 meter run. That time trimmed four seconds off the previous Olson Forum mark (8:42.83).

Outstanding Men's Field Athlete Eric Buss, Saint John's
- Buss (Sr., Coon Rapids, Minn.) won the triple jump with an automatic qualifying distance of 14.66 meters on Saturday. He has the sixth-best mark in the triple jump in all of NCAA Division III this season. On Friday, Buss also took second in both the high jump (2.00 meters) and long jump (6.94 meters).

Men's Outstanding Performance of the Meet - Joe DeFrance, St. Thomas
- DeFrance (Sr., Eagan, Minn./Eastview) broke a nine-year-old meet record and the St. Thomas indoor record in the 200 meter dash on Saturday. He blazed a time of 21.96 over the Olson Forum track. DeFrance also was a part of the winning 4x400 relay for the Tommies that finished in 3:21.07.

Men's Coach of the Year - Paul Schmaedeke, Hamline
- Schmaedeke led the Pipers to a second place finish over the weekend at the championships. Hamline University totaled 111.0 points, finishing behind St. Thomas in the 11-team meet. Hamline had one individual champion and six total All-MIAC performances during the two-day meet.

2009 All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team
Augsburg - Shane Pantila (So., St. Michael, Minn./St. Michael-Albertville)
Bethel - Taylor Ferda (Jr., Whitefish, Mont.)
Carleton - Tom Ballinger (Sr., Wenatchee, Wash.)
Concordia - James Flaa (Jr., New Hope, Minn./Armstrong)
Gustavus - Justin Lund (So., Cyrus, Minn./Morris Area)
Hamline - Brandon Gleason (Sr., Mantorville, Minn./Kasson-Mantorville)
Macalester - Wade Eckstrom (Jr., La Crescent, Minn.)
Saint John's - Josh Wallert (Fy., Woodbury, Minn./New Life Academy)
Saint Mary's - Quentin Moore (So., Minneapolis, Minn./Totino-Grace)
St. Olaf - Ezekiel Heyenreich (Sr., Andover, Mass.)
St. Thomas - Phil Bastron (Sr., Pleasant Prairie, Wis.)

2009 MIAC Indoor Track & Field Championships Website