2001 MIAC Men's Tennis Tournament

MIAC Men's Tennis: Final Saturday Results

Gustavus won all six singles championship matches in straight sets and also won the championship finals at No. 1 doubles as it captured its 13th consecutive MIAC men's tennis team championship. The two-day meet concluded Saturday in St. Paul.

Gustie Coach Steve Wilkinson and Hamline's Dan Haertl were named Co-Coach of the Year. Gustavus' Tommy Valentini, the winner at No. 5 singles, won the Arthur Ashe Award for leadership and academic excellence.

The biggest upset of the meet came at No. 3 doubles, where unseeded Mike Gander and Josh LeClaire of St. John's went 3-0 to claim the championship, topping the top three seeds en route to the title.

Final Scoring (Includes season dual meets and the two-day tournament points)

1. Gustavus 151.5 (90 from duals); 2. St. Olaf 130 (80); 3. St. Thomas 110 (70); 4. Macalester 71.5 (60); 5. St. John's 64 (40); 6. Hamline 57 (40); 7. Concordia-Moorhead 54 (40); 8. Carleton 31.5 (20); 9. Bethel 27.5 (20); 10. St. Mary's 5.5 (0).

Saturday's Championship Matches


No. 1--Eric Butorac GAC def. Matt Kramer UST, 6-2, 6-2
No. 2--Nick Crossley GAC def. Karl Wilbur SO, 6-2, 6-3
No. 3--Kevin Whipple GAC def. Peder Thoen SO, 6-0, 6-0
No. 4--Josh Heiden GAC def. Brandon Hall SO, 6-0, 6-1
No. 5--Tommy Valentini GAC def. Ted Nagel SO, 6-2, 6-2
No. 6--Brandon Dunigan GAC def. Tom Nagel SO, 6-4, 7-5


No. 1--Michael Hom/Daryn Collins GAC def. Pete Nau/Karl Wilbur SO, 6-4, 6-1
No. 2--Ted Nagel/Tom Nagel SO def. Matt Kramer/John Ryan UST, 7-5, 7-5
No. 3--Mike Gander/Josh LeClaire SJU def. Peder Thoen/Brandon Hall SO, 5-7, 6-4, 6-1

Consolation Champions

No. 1--Geoff Granseth SMU def. Jake Olson CON, 6-4, 3-6, 6-2
No. 2--Dan Lehto BET def. Brad Reichhuber SMU, 6-1, 6-0
No. 3--Peter Loken MAC def. Peter Brulle BET, 6-3, 6-1
No. 4--John Schollmeier HAM def. Jason Boll SMU, 6-2, 6-4
No. 5--Todd Scearcy CON def. Chad Hanson BET, 6-7, 6-3, 6-4
No. 6--Brian Marson CAR def. Eric Giga CON, 6-4, 6-2


No. 1--Jake Olson/Mark Tuchscherer CON def. Mark Benson/Dan Lahto BET, 6-3, 6-4
No. 2--Chris Premo/John Schollmeier HAM def. Chad Hanson/Jason Strand BET, 6-2, 6-2
No. 3--Phil Johnson/Kyle Anderson GAC def. Eric Giga/Todd Scearcy CON, 6-2, 6-4