Hamline's Hipp headlines 2010-11 MIAC Men's Basketball Awards

Carl Hipp, Hamline
Carl Hipp, Hamline


ST. PAUL, Minn. -- The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) announced the 2010-11 MIAC Men's Basketball Awards today, Feb. 28, 2011. Hamline University center Carl Hipp was named the 2010-11 MIAC Joe Hutton Player-of-the-Year. Hipp led the MIAC in scoring (17.6 ppg), rebounding (10.9 rpg) and blocked shots (2.0 bpg) while helping the Pipers finish third in the conference standings and earn a berth in the postseason.

It's fitting Hipp is the Joe Hutton Award recipient in 2010-11, as Hamline honored Hutton and nine other Piper standouts this season by dedicating a Row of Honor in Hutton Arena. Hipp's Player-of-the-Year honor, All-Conference honor and All-Defensive Team selection cap a stellar career that includes All-MIAC honors in 2010 and 2011, three consecutive years on the All-Defensive Team (2009-2011), an All-Conference Honorable Mention honor in 2009 and a spot on the All-First Year Team in 2008.

Carleton College junior forward Caleb Rosenow was selected as the MIAC Sixth Man-of-the-Year. Rosenow helped the Knights earn a share of the 2010-11 MIAC regular season championship and the No. 1 seed in the MIAC Playoffs. His contributions off the bench included 9.5 ppg, 4.6 rpg, 21 assists, 14 steals and an impressive .569 field goal percentage.

Carleton head coach Guy Kalland was chosen as the 2010-11 MIAC Coach-of-the-Year. Kalland (383-309) led the Knights to a share of the regular season conference title with an 18-7 overall record and a 17-3 conference mark in his 27th year at Carleton's head coach. It is his second Coach-of-the-Year honor, with the other coming in 2006. This was the Knights' 10th straight playoff appearance and 19th overall under Kalland, as well as their 19th winning season in his 27 years. This is Kalland's second MIAC regular season title after also sharing the crown with St. Thomas in 2005-06, and his third overall, counting the Knights' 2010 MIAC Playoff Championship. 

Kalland's club led the MIAC in scoring defense, surrendering just 59.9 points per game in 2010-11. Their plus-6.1 scoring margin was second in the league, and their defense was also the best in the conference in opponent field goal percentage (.415) and opponent 3-point percentage (.296). 

Regular season co-champions Carleton and St. Thomas each had two players named to the All-MIAC team, and Hamline, St. Olaf, Concordia and Saint Mary's had two players apiece on the team as well. The 15-person team also included players from Gustavus, Augsburg and Saint John's. The All-Conference team featured seven seniors, seven juniors and one sophomore.

St. John's Aaron Burtzel and Concordia's John Fraase are both three-time All-Conference selections, while Hipp, Carleton's Jeremy Sutherland and Seth Jonker and St. Thomas' Tyler Nicolai and Alex Healy are also repeat selections from the 2010 team. Saint Mary's Will Wright also earned his second All-Conference honor after being named to the team in 2009.

The MIAC also recognize an All-Defensive Team, which features all five players that were honored on last year's defensive squad, as well as an All-First Year Team and an All-Conference Honorable Mention squad.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the fifth annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for men's basketball. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

2010-11 MIAC Men's Basketball Awards

Joe Hutton Player-of-the-Year - Carl Hipp, Hamline (Sr., Little Canada, Minn./Totino-Grace)

Sixth Man-of-the-Year - Caleb Rosenow, Carleton (Jr., Red Wing, Minn.)

Coach-of-the-Year - Guy Kalland, Carleton (27th season)

2010-11 MIAC Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

Name Team Year Position Hometown/High School
Seth Anderson Gustavus Jr.  Guard Minnesota Lake, Minn./Maple River
Aaron Burtzel Saint John's Sr.  Forward Cold Spring, Minn./Rocori
Mike Campbell Hamline Jr. Guard Burnsville, Minn./Richfield
Bobby Fong St. Olaf Jr. Guard Bloomington, Minn./Kennedy
John Fraase Concordia Sr.  Forward Bismarck, N.D./Century
Alex Healy St. Thomas Sr. Guard North Oaks, Minn./White Bear Lake
Carl Hipp Hamline Sr. Center Little Canada, Minn./Totino-Grace
Seth Jonker Carleton Sr.  Forward  Apple Valley, Minn./Eastview 
Stuart Neville St. Olaf Jr. Forward Eden Prairie, Minn./Benilde-St. Margaret's
Tyler Nicolai St. Thomas Sr.  Guard  Minnetonka, Minn./Hopkins 
Darrin Olmscheid Concordia Sr.  Forward Buffalo, Minn.
Chris Palmer Saint Mary's So.  Forward Faribault, Minn./Bethlehem Academy
Cory Polta Augsburg Jr. Forward Spring Lake Park, Minn.
Jeremy Sutherland Carleton Sr.  Guard Apple Valley, Minn./St. Bernard's 
Will Wright Saint Mary's Sr.   Guard Chicago, Ill./Marist

2010-11 MIAC Men's Basketball All-Defensive Team

Name Team Year Position Hometown/High School
Teddy Archer St. Thomas Sr.  Guard  Plymouth, Minn./DeLaSalle 
Carl Hipp Hamline Sr. Center Little Canada, Minn./Totino-Grace
Tyler Nicolai St. Thomas Sr.  Guard  Minnetonka, Minn./Hopkins 
Brett Sorenson Augsburg Jr.  Forward  Lakeville, Minn./South 
Jeremy Sutherland Carleton Sr.  Guard  Apple Valley, Minn./St. Bernard's 

2010-11 MIAC Men's Basketball All-First Year Team

Name Team Year Position Hometown/High School
Connor Gunderson St. Olaf Fy. Guard Austin, Minn.
Parker Hines Augsburg Fy. Guard  Lakeville, Minn./Minnehaha Academy
Christian Skinner Bethel Fy.  Post Sioux Falls, S.D./Sioux Falls Christian
Tyler Pannell Hamline Fy. Guard  Portland, Ore./Centennial
Justin Wasik Macalester Fy. Guard  Park Ridge, Ill./Maine South

2010-11 MIAC Men's Basketball All-Conference Honorable Mention

Name Team Year Position Hometown/High School
Andy Burns Saint John's Jr.  Guard Shorewood, Minn./Minnetonka
Andy Grzesiak-Grimm Augsburg Jr. Forward Wyoming, Minn./St. Francis
Taylor Hall Bethel So. Forward Blaine, Minn./Spring Lake Park
Tommy Hannon St. Thomas Jr. Center St. Paul, Minn./Cretin-Derham Hall
Pierce Peters Macalester So.  Forward  Glenwood, Minn./Minnewaska Area
Matthew Quammen Augsburg Sr.  Forward  Victoria, Minn./Holy Family
Caleb Rosenow Carleton Jr.  Forward  Red Wing, Minn.
Dan Schmidtknecht Gustavus Sr. Guard La Crosse, Wis./Logan
Phil Wirtjes Gustavus Sr. Wing Des Moines, Iowa/Holy Angels

2010-11 Men's Basketball All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team
Augsburg - Anthony Humphrey (Jr., Minneapolis, Minn./DeLaSalle)
Bethel - Zach Hurd (Sr., Portage, Mich./Northern)
Carleton - Jason Weischedel (Sr., Essex, Vt./Junction)
Concordia - John Fraase (Sr., Bismarck, N.D./Century)
Gustavus - Mat Doble (Sr., Sarasota, Fla./Cardinal Mooney)
Hamline - Matt Farb (Jr., St. Cloud, Minn./Tech)
Macalester - Holden Bigler-Johnson (Sr., Austin, Texas/Anderson)
Saint John's - Aaron Barmore (Jr., Bloomington, Minn./Jefferson)
Saint Mary's - Lukas Holland (Sr., La Crosse, Wis./Central)
St. Olaf - Tucker Sheley (Sr., Backus, Minn./Pequot Lakes)
St. Thomas - Peter Leslie (Jr., West St. Paul, Minn./Henry Sibley)