2010 MIAC Baseball Awards

2010 MIAC Baseball Awards
5/17/2010 10:06:06 AM
St. Paul, Minn. -- The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) announced the 2010 MIAC Baseball Awards today, May 17, 2010. Leading the 27-player All-Conference team is MIAC MVP Tyler Jones of St. Olaf and MIAC Pitcher of the Year Matt Schuld of St. Thomas.

St. Olaf College senior catcher Tyler Jones (Farmington, Minn.) was selected as the 2010 MIAC Max Molock Most Valuable Player. Jones batted .481 (37-for-77) during his 20 conference games. He tallied 22 runs, 17 RBI, six doubles, three homers, and two triples. His 37 hits and and 56 total bases led MIAC hitters.

University of St. Thomas senior pitcher Matt Schuld (Plymouth, Minn./Robbinsdale Armstrong) was named the 2010 Mike Augustin Pitcher of the Year. In seven MIAC appearances, Schuld had a 5-1 record with a 2.35 ERA. He pitched 38 1/3 innings, striking out 40, while only walking 13 and allowing only 10 earned runs. 

Hamline University first-year pitcher Matt Eickman (Brooklyn Park, Minn./Maranatha) was chosen as the 2010 MIAC Rookie of the Year. Eickman totaled 39 innings in MIAC play, allowing only 12 earned runs for a 2.77 ERA. He struck out 21, walked eight, and finished his first MIAC season with a 3-3 record.

Concordia College head coach Bucky Burgau received the 2010 MIAC Jim Dimick Coach of the Year award. Burgau's Cobbers finished conference play with a 14-6 record, a six game improvement in the win column from 2009. Concordia claimed the #2 seed in the MIAC Playoffs, their first playoff appearance since 2005.

For the first time, the MIAC coaches selected an All-Defensive Team. The 10-player team consists of one player at each position, a starting pitcher, and a relief pitcher. Award winners were selected for their arm strength and range as well as all defensive statistics.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC announced the fourth annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for baseball. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition. 

Max Molock Most Valuable Player - Tyler Jones, St. Olaf (Sr., Farmington, Minn.)

Mike Augustin Pitcher of the Year - Matt Schuld, St. Thomas (Sr., Plymouth, Minn./Robbinsdale Armstrong)

Rookie of the Year - Matt Eickman, Hamline (Fy., Brooklyn Park, Minn./Maranatha)

Jim Dimick Coach of the Year - Bucky Burgau, Concordia (32nd season)

2010 MIAC All-Conference Team

Name  Team  Year  Position  Hometown/High School 
Charles Bruchu St. Thomas So. 3B Lake Elmo, Minn./Hill-Murray
Kris Edwards St. Thomas Jr. P Edina, Minn.
Matt Eickman Hamline Fy. P Brooklyn Park, Minn./Maranatha
Russ Fujisawa Carleton Sr. OF Riverwoods, Ill./Deerfield
Mitch Glasser Macalester So. 2B Chicago, Ill./The Latin School
Kyle Henkemeyer Saint John's Sr. 1B Sauk Rapids, Minn./Sauk Rapids-Rice
Craig Henry Augsburg Sr. C Lino Lakes, Minn./Centennial
Adam Johnson Concordia Sr. P Pelican Rapids, Minn.
Carson Jones St. Olaf Sr. OF Farmington, Minn.
Tyler Jones St. Olaf Sr. C Farmington, Minn.
Andy King Hamline So. OF Fort Myers, Fla./South Fort Myers
Brett Kramer Saint John's Jr. P Baxter, Minn./Brainerd
Jake Krause Concordia Sr. SS Moorhead, Minn.
Bert Marsnik Saint John's So. DH Annandale, Minn.
James Murrey Macalester Sr. P Western Springs, Ill./Lyons Township
Matt Nelson St. Thomas Sr. P Golden Valley, Minn./Benilde-St. Margaret
Matt Olson St. Thomas Sr. OF Anoka, Minn.
Kris Ozga Augsburg Jr. P Hawthorn Woods, Ill./Stevenson
Joe Pierce Augsburg Sr. 1B Eden Prairie, Minn.
Taylor Rahm St. Thomas Jr. OF Savage, Minn./Holy Angels
Matt Schuld St. Thomas Sr. P Plymouth, Minn./Robbinsdale Armstrong
Brian Skluzacek Saint John's Jr. C Cold Spring, Minn./Rocori
Jay Slick Bethel So. C River Falls, Wis.
John Slick Bethel Sr. OF River Falls, Wis.
Dan Wackler Concordia Jr. 2B Buffalo, Minn.
Andrew Woitas Gustavus Sr. OF Sleepy Eye, Minn./St. Mary's
Hayden Zimmerman Saint John's So. P New Richmond, Wis.

2010 MIAC All-Defensive Team

Name  Team  Year  Position  Hometown/High School 
Tom Wippler St. Thomas Sr. 1B  Sauk Rapids, Minn. 
Andy Powell Hamline Jr. 2B  Minneapolis, Minn./South 
Devin English Macalester Sr. 3B  Annapolis, Md./DeMatha 
Jake Krause Concordia Sr. SS  Moorhead, Minn. 
Josh Dahlke Concordia Sr. OF  Willmar, Minn. 
Tony Rogers Hamline Jr. OF  St. Michael, Minn./Elk River 
Matt McQuillan St. Thomas Jr. OF  St. Paul, Minn./Cretin-Derham Hall 
Brian Skluzacek Saint John's Jr. Cold Spring, Minn./Rocori 
Mark Heise Augsburg Jr. SP Foley, Minn. 
Brandon Stone St. Thomas Sr. RP  Roseville, Minn. 


2010 All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team
Augsburg - Derek Williamson (Sr., St. Francis, Minn.)
Bethel - Bjorn Anderson (Sr., Arden Hills, Minn./Mounds View)
Carleton - Dan Lojovich (Sr., Inver Grove Heights, Minnn./Simley)
Concordia - Lucas Genereux (Sr., Thief River Falls, Minn./Lincoln)
Gustavus - Ryan Michaelis (Sr., Big Lake, Minn.)
Hamline - Alex Buresh (Sr., Vadnais Heights, Minn./White Bear Lake)
Macalester - Elliot Yodh (Jr., Merion, Pa./Lower Merion)
Saint John's - Kyle Henkemeyer (Sr., Sauk Rapids, Minn./Sauk Rapids-Rice)
Saint Mary's - John Swenson (Sr., Eagan, Minn./Cretin-Derham Hall)
St. Olaf - Jonathan Curry (Sr., New Ulm, Minn.)
St. Thomas - Matt McQuillan (Jr., St. Paul, Minn./Cretin-Derham Hall)