Quick Facts
Name: Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC)
Founded: 1920
Members: 13 private Minnesota colleges and universities
Sports: The MIAC sponsors 22 championship sports
Affiliation: NCAA Division III

Did you know?
-Like all NCAA Division III members, MIAC student-athletes compete without athletic scholarships or aid.
-More than 7,300 student-athletes compete in the MIAC each season.
-The MIAC’s four core values are: Quality Athletics, Academics, Student-Athlete Well-Being and Integrity.
-Some of the unique nicknames in the MIAC include the Auggies, Gusties, Johnnies, Oles, Tommies, Cobbers and Pipers.
-In 1997, the MIAC received more than $400,000 as a grant from the USOC to establish varsity women's hockey as a conference-sponsored sport.
-Every three years, the MIAC holds a Student-Athlete Leadership Conference for 130 student-athletes (10 per institution) to help foster the development and growth of tomorrow’s leaders.
-The MIAC implemented a strategic plan in 2011 to focus on key areas of development within the conference including academic welfare, gender equity, branding and financial stewardship, to name a few. 

Minnesota Roots
-The MIAC is the only NCAA athletic conference completely contained within the state of Minnesota.
-More than 70 percent of all student-athletes who compete in the MIAC are products of Minnesota high schools.
-The longest distance between two MIAC schools is 348 miles. (Concordia College in Moorhead, Minn. to Saint Mary’s University in Winona, Minn.). The shortest distance between two MIAC schools is 1.8 miles (St. Catherine University to the University of St. Thomas, both in St. Paul, Minn.).
-St. Paul is home to four MIAC schools (Hamline, Macalester, St. Catherine, St. Thomas) and Northfield is home to two (Carleton, St. Olaf). Two others (Augsburg in Minneapolis and Bethel in Arden Hills) also reside in the Twin Cities.
-All six Twin Cities institutions are located within 11 miles of one another. 

On the Field
-MIAC teams have won 45 team national championships.
-The most recent MIAC team national championship was won by the 2016 St. Thomas men's basketball team, which marked the conference’s second title in that sport.
-Five MIAC schools – Augsburg, Concordia, Gustavus, Saint John’s and St. Thomas – have won at least four team national championships.
-MIAC individuals have won 245 national championships.
-Outdoor Track and Field features the most MIAC individual champions with 53 women’s titles and 47 men’s titles.

In the classroom             
-In 2013-14, the MIAC will begin presenting the MIAC Elite 22 Award, which mirrors the NCAA Elite 90 award. The MIAC honor will recognize the student-athlete with the highest grade point average at each MIAC Championship event or Playoff championship game.
-The MIAC honors student-athletes for their combined excellence in the classroom and in competition with the Academic All-Conference awards. Student-athletes must have a grade point average of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 scale and meet athletic qualifications to receive the honor.
-The MIAC has been honoring an Academic All-Conference team since 1986-87.
-In 2016-17, a record 1,033 MIAC student-athletes received Academic All-Conference distinction. 

In the Community
-The MIAC embraces NCAA Division III’s partnership with Special Olympics and is proud of the work its Student-Athlete Advisory Committees (SAAC) have done to benefit Special Olympics Minnesota.
-For many years, MIAC SAAC worked with Rebuilding Together on a service project to improve the homes of Minnesota residents in need.
-In 2010, the MIAC baseball teams banded together to create “MIAC Strike Out Prostate Cancer Week” to raise awareness and funds for prostate cancer research.
-In 2012, the MIAC volleyball teams began an initiative to perform a service project during their preseason activities. All 12 teams participated and collectively agreed to continue the initiative each year.
-MIAC sports participate in various other athletically related service projects including Dig Pink, Coaches vs. Cancer and many more. 

Sportsmanship: Respect your Rivals
-In 2006-07, the MIAC debuted the All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team. The conference-wide sportsmanship initiative features an All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team for each sport. Honorees demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition and are selected by coaches and teammates.
-The MIAC Presidents’ Council adopted a new MIAC Sportsmanship Plan in May 2013. The plan features a statement of sportsmanship, expectations for all parties, courses of action, unacceptable behaviors, event management responsibilities, and electronic media expectations.
-The MIAC created and shared “Best Practices for Creating Engaging Event Atmosphere” in May 2012. 

Legendary Coaches
-Saint John's John Gagliardi retired on Nov. 19, 2012, as the all-time winningest coach in the history of college football. Gagliardi compiled a 489-138-11 (.775) record in 64 seasons, with 60 of those seasons at Saint John’s (465-132-10). Gagliardi is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame and the namesake of the Gagliardi Trophy – awarded annually to the nation’s outstanding Division III football player.
-Gustavus’ Steve Wilkinson retired as the all-time winningest coach in the history of NCAA tennis with 923 career victories. His teams were a remarkable 328-1 in MIAC duals, and he coached the Gusties to two national championships, 35 MIAC titles and 15 NCAA appearances.
-Augsburg men’s hockey coach Ed Saugestad’s name will live on in the MIAC, as the Auggies’ ice arena bares his name, as does the MIAC Men’s Hockey Playoff Championship traveling trophy, the Saugestad Cup. From 1958-1996, Saugestad’s teams went 503-354-21 with three NAIA national titles and six MIAC championships. 

Amazing alums
-Kofi Annan, former Secretary-General of the United Nations and Nobel Prize recipient in 2001, was among Macalester’s top track sprinters in the early 1960s.
-Devean George, the first Division III player ever selected in the first round of the NBA Draft and a three-time NBA champion with the Los Angeles Lakers, played his college basketball at Augsburg.
-Lute Olson, a member of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and a Division I national championship head coach at the University of Arizona, is also an Augsburg men’s basketball alum.
-Eric Butorac, an ATP world tour doubles player and Vice President of the ATP Player’s Council, was a tennis star at Gustavus, winning both individual and doubles national championships as a Gustie.
-John “Blood” McNally, a charter member of the National Football League (NFL) Hall of Fame, attended Saint John’s from 1920-23. McNally played in the NFL for 14 seasons and won four championships with the Green Bay Packers from 1929-36. 

Other Honors and Awards
-The MIAC’s highest honor is the Distinguished Service Award, which is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to their institution and to the conference.
-The MIAC sports information directors annually present the Mike Augustin Award to recognize outstanding contributions to the MIAC in the media or sports information. Mike Augistin was a longtime sportswriter for the Pioneer Press and an articulate friend, follower, and advocate of the conference.
-The MIAC selects a nominee for the NCAA Woman of the Year award each year based on three criteria: athletics, academics and community service.